Poll: Do you review children's books?

Hi BookishFirst Readers!

Are you interested in reading and reviewing children’s books via BookishFirst raffles? In the comments below, feel free to explain your answers!

• Picture Books
  • Middle Grade Books
  • Both
  • Neither

0 voters

1 Like

As a teacher I am always looking for new, different and certain topics of books. I teach early Ele and we love new books :slight_smile:

I do review the occasional middle-grade book. It’s a nice change a pace and usually quite enjoyable. I would love to see some middle-grade offerings.

2 Likes

Not at the moment, though I may in the future because I work with kids and could review from a professional perspective. My main reason is just that I already have enough adult
books to read/review and don’t want to get backlogged.

Personally I would prefer to stick with adult/YA Fiction mostly. I have two young kids but BookishFirst is my time! Lol.

3 Likes

I’ve read several middle grade books (as an adult) with fantastic world building and story lines. So I don’t disregard them just because they are middle grade books.

2 Likes

You make a good point. One of my favorite book series is considered middle grade level reading. It’s called The Tillerman Series by Cynthia Voigt and includes Homecoming, Dicey’s Song, A Solitary Blue, etc. Fantastic books!

2 Likes

I would love to see middle grade books! For all the folks saying no, remember that Harry Potter starts as a middle grade series. Some of the most imaginative stuff being written right now is in the middle grade market. It’s not dumbed down and has broad appeal to all ages.

4 Likes

They are written by adults who obviously find them interesting enough to write!

1 Like

I’m becoming more of an adult/nonfiction/some YA reader these days. I’ll only read a middle grade if it is by an author I love like V. E Schwab.

1 Like